THE BLACK: The Priest Of Satan CD (Swedish black metal feat. Jon from Dissection)


THE BLACK: The Priest Of Satan CD

One of Sweden's finest efforts, it’s a little surprising that The Black aren’t a little better known outfit, given that their vocalist, guitarist and sometime keyboard player was the infamous Jon Nödtveidt. That said, this is quite a world away from the sophistication and epic sensibilities of Dissection stylistically, even if the vocals are at times unmistakeable. This is due in large part, no doubt, to the fact that it was drummer and founder Make ‘The Black’ Pesonen who wrote all the material for the band. While it may be purely coincidental that his own background was a combination of Finnish and Swedish, The Priest of Satan definitely feels like something of a combination of Swedish and Finnish influences, with an icy atmosphere and a furious, almost punky, barrage dominating the material.

Short, violent musical bursts are the order of the day here, many numbers falling around the two minute mark, a definite rarity in a genre dominated by lengthy songs. The pure hatred and fury that bleeds through is fairly unrivalled, Jon’s vocals being particularly deranged, angry and tortured. The buzzsaw guitars and spirited percussion are similarly barbaric, marrying the singeminded approach of Ildjarn, Marduk or even VON to some more swaggering and chunky hooks and some extremely minimal but effective synth refrains. The latter undoubtedly separates this from many of its contemporaries, giving a supernatural / horror film overtone (comparable to some Swedish death metal of the era) that well compliment the overtly Satanic lyrics.

1. The Beast of Fire 
2. The Book of Leviathan 
3. Towards the Golden Dawn 
4. The Sign of the Evil Spirit 
5. Lady Lilith  
6. Black Blood 
7. The Spirit of Solitude 
8. After My Prayers 
9. The Goat of Mendes 
10. The Priest of Satan 
11. The Black Opal Eye 
12. Whirlwinds Through the Land of Ice


Why choose Cult Never Dies:

• Quick service and careful packaging.

• Each order comes with a free fanzine & catalogue with exclusive interviews.

• Responsive customer service - if you have any problems during the ordering process, or at any other time, just email 


Ordering Notes:

• This webstore will always show you the total to be paid (shipping and item cost) before taking any payment, you will never be charged without first confirming your purchase.

• You don't have to register to order, it's optional!

• Shipping price is calculated by weight. As with most mail orders the price of shipping per item drops the more you are ordering (ie. the shipping for 2 shirts is only a little more than for 1 shirt and so on).

• We are based in the United Kingdom.

- If you wish to pay by paypal you will be taken to the paypal site when you are ready to add postage and pay. You will be taken here to see your total before confirming - again, don't worry, you haven't committed to buying until you actually then click to confirm payment.

• If you want tracking, please click the tracking option.


[Item type: Black metal CD]